Which is better: Ring, Blink, or Arlo?

I’m looking to set up some wireless security cameras around my home. I asked a couple of friends who install cameras, and they all said to go with Blink, Ring, or Arlo. They said these are easy to install and set up for homeowners.

Which one is the best option? I’m not too worried about price since they’re all pretty close. I’m new to this, so any advice or recommendations?

1 Like

Reolink is pretty solid.

1 Like

All three brands you mentioned use a closed ecosystem, which is good for them but not great for you. Look into brands that sell ONVIF-compliant cameras like Dahua or rebranded ones like Amcrest in the US, Imou, or Lorex. Reolink also has ONVIF in many models.

1 Like

Check out r/homelab or r/selfhosted.

Consider running PoE throughout your house for hardwired cameras.

1 Like

Amalia said:

What is PoE?

1 Like

Alexi said:

Amalia said:

What is PoE?

It stands for Power over Ethernet. Basically, it’s running low-voltage Cat6 cables through your house to power and connect the cameras.

1 Like

I’d recommend PoE and getting a system like the Dahua one mentioned. It’s still a DIY job, just a bit more effort, but the quality and reliability are worth it. Plus, it’s more secure.

john said:
I’d recommend PoE and getting a system like the Dahua one mentioned. It’s still a DIY job, just a bit more effort, but the quality and reliability are worth it. Plus, it’s more secure.

Do I need anything special for a PoE camera, or does it just plug into my router?

Alexi said:

john said:

Do I need anything special for a PoE camera, or does it just plug into my router?