What device am I looking for?

Let me start by saying I’m no electrician, though I do have a family member who is one, but he doesn’t know much about smart home setups. I’m in Europe.

I recently installed a COB CCT LED strip under my kitchen cabinets. My electrician wired it to a regular wall switch to turn it on and off. Between the LED strip and the switch, there’s a Zigbee controller and a 24V power supply.

The problem is, every time I turn off the switch, the Zigbee controller loses power and disconnects from the network, so I can’t control the lights. When I turn it back on, the controller takes about 10 seconds to reconnect to the network.

I want the Zigbee controller to always have power so I can control the LED strip via app or Home Assistant (on/off, brightness, and color temperature), but I also want to be able to turn the lights on/off using the wall switch. Ideally, they would work independently.

My electrician said I need a power supply with a “live wire” or “constant power,” but I’m not sure exactly what to look for. I’m also unsure if the live wire should go directly to the Zigbee controller.

The closest thing I’ve found is a combined controller and power supply, but it’s for RGBW LED strips, not CCT.

I have a lot of Shelly devices controlling my lights, and I’ve seen they offer a 24V RGBW relay switch for LED strips, but I haven’t confirmed if it works with CCT strips.

Another option is keeping the strip powered all the time and using a smart switch, but I want to stick with regular switches for consistency around the house.

Can someone tell me if my setup is possible with a regular switch? What kind of device do I need, or why wouldn’t it work?

Thanks in advance!

You could replace the wall switch with a Zigbee button or switch that you program to turn the strip on and off without cutting power. It’s a better option for smart lights.

Mia said: