New to CCTV and home security camera systems. Looking for suggestions on first system purchase

Hi all,

I am new to CCTV and looking for my first system for home use. With so many options out there, I’m seeking advice from those with more experience. My budget is around $500 but could increase for the right system. I’m focusing on:

• Wi-Fi systems (not POE or BNC/RCA)
  • At least 5MP cameras with good night vision (audio is optional, mainly for porch/front door)
  • Live remote viewing
  • Local storage and viewable on a monitor, PC, or TV

I’ve found several appealing options on Amazon, including Firstrend (highly rated for customer service) and others like OOSSXX, Hiseeu, Reolink, Zosi, Swann, Annke, Lorex, WYZE, Amcrest, and WEILALIFE.

Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

3 Likes

I used to have an Arlo system, but it was terrible.
I switched to Eufy, which was a solid and reliable system, but it couldn’t continuously record and display footage. I also got tired of having to recharge the batteries.
Now, I am using Lorex, and it’s been fantastic. It is a POE system with an NVR, and I have a TV on all the time so I can always see what’s happening. It also offers continuous recording.
I am very satisfied with it.

2 Likes

I tried the Blink system from Amazon, and it was terrible. It was so unreliable that when I really needed it, the recording was incomplete, almost allowing a crime to go unnoticed.

After that, I bought a high-end Eufy system with Homebase 3, 4K cameras, a doorbell, and three C24 cameras for 24/7 recording. The cameras themselves were decent, and the footage was clear. However, the motion sensitivity was inconsistent, and the sound quality on the C24 cameras was so poor that it wasn’t useful.

The cameras were mostly reliable, but some would stop working once a week without any notification. If you didn’t check them, you wouldn’t even know they had stopped.