Need to Monitor Mailbox Theft – Seeking Camera Recommendations (NC, USA)

We’ve been dealing with an issue involving a neighbor who seems to be suffering from dementia and has been taking our mail. Although his family sometimes returns it, not everything makes it back, and communication with them is difficult. Unfortunately, without hard proof, the police and USPS haven’t been able to take action.

We’re thinking about setting up a security camera to monitor the mailbox, but the challenge is that our mailbox is about a quarter mile away from the house, along a paved road, while we live down a dirt/gravel road through some woods. The options for cameras seem overwhelming, and the ones I’ve checked so far don’t seem to cover that distance. We’re also working with a limited budget, so we can’t go for the most expensive solutions.

Additionally, cellular reception in our area isn’t the best, which adds another layer of complexity. I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to home security systems, so any advice or recommendations for cameras that might work for our situation would be greatly appreciated!

Have you considered a locking mailbox?

Someone suggested this to me, but I’m not sure how it would work, especially since we don’t always have the same postal workers delivering our mail. Wouldn’t they all need keys? And would they even drop off the mail if they had to unlock a mailbox? (Sorry, I’m just not sure how this works.)

No need for keys for the postal workers. Most locking mailboxes have a slot where they can insert the mail without needing to unlock anything. You only need the key to retrieve the mail. We use a MailBoss box to keep our mail secure, and it even fits small packages.

The good quality locking mailboxes allow regular mail to be dropped in through a slot, and they’re also compatible with the mail carrier’s key for placing packages inside.