Eufy Camera Incoming – What’s the Right Home Software to Run for Backup?

Hi all,

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide! I’m about to order a Eufy SoloCam S340 Wireless Outdoor Security Camera. From what I’ve read, it stores footage internally on SD cards. I’m not keen on buying the homebase station, although I know it’s an option.

My main concern is that if a vandal were to damage or steal the camera, they’d take the footage with them. I want to ensure that the footage is backed up elsewhere. While I can view and download the footage using the app, I’d like to set up some software at home to automatically transfer and store the footage.

I work in IT, so I’m comfortable with networking and technical setups. Essentially, I’d like to have the footage automatically copied to a central location on a home server or PC, and keep about 30 days’ worth of footage.

Do you have any suggestions for free or paid software that could help with this? I’d appreciate any recommendations or ideas you have :wink:

Hi there!

It’s great that you’re thinking ahead about securing your footage.

Here are a few options you can consider for automatically backing up your security camera footage to a central location:

1. FTP Server Setup:
  • FileZilla: You can set up your PC or Mac as an FTP server using free software like FileZilla. Your Eufy camera can then upload footage to this server continuously or when motion is detected.
  1. Cloud Storage Solutions:
  • Dropbox: If you prefer cloud storage, you can use Dropbox. Once installed, you can set the Dropbox folder as the destination for your camera’s footage. This way, the footage is automatically uploaded and backed up.
  • Amazon S3: Another cloud option is Amazon S3. You can configure your camera to upload footage directly to an S3 bucket, providing a scalable and reliable backup solution.
  1. Dedicated Backup Software: