Best outdoor security camera for cold weather?

My garage was broken into and I want to install a camera above the door. I live in Canada, so it can get really cold during the winter.

Should I go for wired or wireless?
What are the best features to look for?
How’s the range and clarity?

Thanks in advance for any help!

You should consider getting a PoE camera for your environment. Brands like Reolink, Hikvision, and Unifi are good options.

Wireless cameras are more like toys. I install cameras for a living, and we often replace systems like Arlo, Ring, Nest, and Blink. I personally like Reolink. It has AI and vehicle detection. You can get a 4-camera system with a 6TB hard drive for about $600, and it’s pretty easy to set up. You can check it out here: https://youtu.be/XXpYhUU02G4

Nest has gone downhill ever since Google bought them. I’ve settled for Ring when I’m not installing commercial systems.

Bright said:
Nest has gone downhill ever since Google bought them. I’ve settled for Ring when I’m not installing commercial systems.

Totally agree with you! Ring has been a much better option for me too.

Check out the Arctic Pro series camera. Here’s a link: https://www.newegg.com/dahua-n83bu82-eyeball-camera/p/N82E16881182933

For a reliable outdoor camera in Canadian winters, I’d suggest going with a wired setup. Wireless can get tricky in extreme cold. Look for weatherproofing, night vision, and at least 1080p resolution to ensure good footage.

Brands like Arlo, Ring, and Nest are decent, but reviews can help you decide which one fits your needs best.

SentinelSanctuary said:
My garage was broken into and I want to install a camera above the door. I live in Canada, so it can get really cold during the winter.