Best home security and camera system for 2024

I’m about to close on my first home and am planning a camera system. I’m looking for suggestions on the best setup for the following:

• 1 outdoor camera for the garage and backyard
  • 1 camera/doorbell at the front door
  • 1 indoor camera
  • Possibly a smart deadbolt

I want the cameras to store footage locally on a server, with alerts sent to my phone. I haven’t fully invested in any smart home ecosystem yet, so I’m open to HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, or others.

I work as a network engineer, so I don’t mind setting up something more advanced, but I’d like the final setup to be user-friendly enough for my girlfriend. Budget is around $1,000, but I’m willing to go higher for a solid system.

I work with Ubiquiti gear at my job and have had good experiences with it. I also have a friend who likes his Eufy system, but I’ve seen concerns about their security. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated!

I use a combination of Frigate and Home Assistant. My setup includes PoE cameras on an isolated VLAN to avoid them phoning home. Frigate runs on a server with plenty of storage and a dedicated GPU for image recognition, and Home Assistant handles notifications. It’s a bit complicated, but it works well and is mostly self-hosted.

Dragonsecure1 said:
I use a combination of Frigate and Home Assistant. My setup includes PoE cameras on an isolated VLAN to avoid them phoning home. Frigate runs on a server with plenty of storage and a dedicated GPU for image recognition, and Home Assistant handles notifications. It’s a bit complicated, but it works well and is mostly self-hosted.

God. None of that sounds fun at all. Young me would have been all over that setup… I must be getting old.

Nathan said:

Dragonsecure1 said:

God. None of that sounds fun at all. Young me would have been all over that setup… I must be getting old.